Tony Eligibility Rulings for Today

With Angie now in the running in the featured category, I feel the need to start an unofficial campaign for Jayne Atkinson to receive a Best Actress in a Play nod for her turn as Ruth. Highly unlikely, especially in a year featuring performances from Jane Fonda, Tovah Feldshuh, Janet McTeer, Marcia Gay Harden, to name a few, but thought I’d put that out there…


The Tony Awards Administration Committee met today for the fourth time this season to decide the eligibility of five Broadway productions for the 2009 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards®, presented by The Broadway League and The American Theatre Wing.

Michael Cerveris, Paul Sparks and Peter Stormare will all be considered eligible in the Featured Actor in a Play category for their performances in Hedda Gabler.

You’re Welcome America. A Final Night with George Bush will be considered eligible in the Special Theatrical Event category.

Angela Lansbury will be considered eligible in the Featured Actress in a Play category for her performance in Blithe Spirit.

All other decisions were consistent with the opening night credits.

This is the fourth time the Tony Awards Administration Committee has met this year. It will meet one final time to discuss the eligibility of shows opening in the 2008-2009 season. The cut-off date for eligibility is April 30, 2009.

The Tony Awards will be broadcast in a live three-hour ceremony from Radio City Music Hall on the CBS television network on Sunday, June 7, 2009.